THE BENEFITS OF VEGANISM

תוצאת תמונה עבור ‪animals vegan‬‏

So what is veganism?

Veganism is the belief that no living being should suffer and die in order to serve us humans. That every animal deserves to live in freedom and have a choice.

Animals, like us, have feelings. They can feel happiness, pleasure, love, but we take that away from them and cause them pain, fear, sadness, frustration and hunger. Yes, they can feel. They suffer.

We have no right to decide for them. We have no right to use them for our pleasure, to make them our slaves. Just because they are not as smart as we are, just because they can’t speak and express themselves in the way we do.

We are educated to believe that we need to exploit animals in order to live. Most of us don’t even know what is going on, because the industry hides it behind the pictures of smiling cows and clean, proud chickens. But the truth is that their suffering isn’t necessary and does more harm than good, not only to us and to our health, but to this planet.

What has veganism changed in me?

I used to be the most uneducated person, charging on an hamburger without thinking twice, never fully understanding what I was putting in my mouth, what was inside my body. I used to be that person who mocks vegetarians. The one so annoyingly saying, but how can you give up the taste, without bothering to really think about it. I didn’t want to know. Because it was convenient, because I didn’t want to limit myself, because I didn’t want to be different.

But once I learnt the truth I couldn’t just go back. I was planning on a gradual transition but now that I knew what I was eating I couldn’t bring myself to eat it. I didn’t want to anymore. Saving the lives of animals is nothing but limiting, if anything it is liberating. And you still have so much to eat! I might make another post about that…

I’m now vegan for one year and I’ve seen many changes outwardly as well as inwardly.

So beginning from the external, I used to have the oiliest skin. It’s pretty normal now, a little dry even in some places.
My hair, which was pretty dry, became a lot oilier.
My period became regular and lighter.
I have a lot of breakouts, though. This is because my body is pretty sensitive to changes and because I haven’t been eating the right foods, too. It’s clearing out now.
I feel a lot lighter… it’s something that you can’t understand until you try, I didn’t even notice how heavy I felt before. And I’m not speaking like a metaphor, I literally feel lighter.
I’m a person who came to this lifestyle from a past of disordered eating and just a really bad body image… and the vegan lifestyle was so liberating to me. I felt like I could finally eat (because vegan foods tend to have fewer calories and more volume) and not worry all the time whether I’m eating too much or whether the food is healthy or not because most of the time it was. I just ate and I realized I preferred the feeling of liberation. So obviously I have gained some weight, but when you come from a very restrictive past it’s to be expected. I feel like when you are eating right your body eventually finds the balance.

Inwardly this is where my journey had begun. Toward a better self, more spiritual, more ethical and compassionate. I think it’s hard to avoid these changes when going vegan. Because the minute you open your eyes, the minute you understand that every life has a value, that we are all a part of this beautiful world, you unavoidably become more aware, more spiritual, and the need to explore is intensified.
I think I was a really shallow and self-concentrated person before this. I believe I’ve opened up a lot since. I’ve become more aware to my surroundings.
I feel like I hold much more value for beings rather than judging them by their looks and species.

And I don’t crave any food that comes from an animal. I actually find it pretty digusting.

What is so good about veganism?

First of all, the benefit for the animals. Just by objecting the idea that there is nothing wrong with eating animals, you are planting doubts. According to PETA, each vegan saves about 185 animals in a year. Because when the consumption is minimized the industries need to minimize their production. That is huge because every life matters, but it is still nothing in comparison to the huge amounts of animals slaughtered all over the world in one year.

It is beneficial to our health because despite what we are told by the industries and by health organizations, meat and dairy aren’t all that healthy for us. Since I’m no health expert and this post would have been really long if I opened that up, here’s a link to the documentary “Forks over Knives” Forks Over Knives

It is also beneficial to the planet. “Animal agriculture is the leading cause of deforestation, water consumption and pollution, is responsible for more greenhouse gases than the transportation industry, and is a primary driver of rainforest destruction, species extinction, habitat loss, topsoil erosion, ocean “dead zones,” and virtually every other environmental ill. Yet it goes on, almost entirely unchallenged.” (Cowspiracy). In the documentary film “Cowspiracy” Kip Anderson investigates the influence of animal agriculture on our planet and why nobody talks about it. here’s the film if you’re interested Cowspiracy

Once you open your eyes, open your mind a little, really, you could see all the good you can do. I hope this post had been helpful and inspiring for you to make a difference.

Namaste.

2 thoughts on “THE BENEFITS OF VEGANISM

  1. I’m a Vegan too. I agree, the movie Cowspiracy is very educational.
    Interestingly, I just rewatched it last week. I’m happy to see that the word is getting out about the benefits of being a Vegan.

    Like

Leave a Reply

